Coping Mechanisms.

"Being crazy, for the rest of us, is a form of sanity..."  -Bar Nights, 2015


"I'm not confused. I'm just well mixed." ~ Robert Frost



Born in South Jersey in the late Summer of '86, Matthes is most known for the books that make up "The Mire Man Trilogy", and infamously for his debut novel and autobiographical tome, "The Slut Always Rides Shotgun". He has penned several volumes of poetry and short stories, and has been published in Paper and Ink Literary Zine, and Analog Submissions Press. Occasionally he collaborates with artists of other mediums. 

Matthes has been writing for a little over twenty years, having tapped into the world of writing at a very early age during a summer camp course offered at his elementary school having to do with writing short stories. He has only somewhat recently tapped into the world of self-publishing. 

Immediately following the death of his father during the summer of 2004, he graduated high school and spent a brief time in the military, subsequently endeavoring to acquire several non-literary-based college degrees (and failed miraculously in achieving any of them), Matthes has never strayed from getting his hands dirty in any way that he can. He has worked in various fields, from slaving away in dozens of warehouses, cutting meat for a butcher, organizing books at a university library, pulling the trigger of his M16 on Parris Island, to supervising a non-english-speaking crew of asbestos abatement workers. Since the fall of 2014, he has worked as an installation and service tech for the restaurant industry, installing bulk cooking oil filtering and recycling systems in restaurants around the country, but mainly in the Philadelphia area.

Since the fall of 2017, he has lived at home in Upper Chichester, Pennsylvania with his wife Sarah and their cat Hank. 

Author Goodreads Page

From Life to the Blank Page


In his writing, Matthes prefers to explore as many topics and themes as possible, but generally focuses his literature on contemporary fiction while sharing a deep love and admiration for the "beat generation". In the past, years before the literary triumph that is "The Slut Always Rides Shotgun", Matthes wrote and self-published a series of science fiction novels titled "The Suicidal Constance Saga", and has considered rewriting it from the beginning, but has since discontinued the series, making it no longer available for purchasing. It is undecided as to whether or not the series will be rebooted or abandoned entirely, allowing the books to exist as a foundation from which he has built everything else upon.

Shortly after the publication of "The Slut Always Rides Shotgun", Matthes' literary agent at the time connected with a team of independent filmmakers interested in adapting Matthes' autobio into a movie. The film was met with mostly negative reviews, gaining criticism mainly for being too loosely-based on the source material, and its severely low-budget creative process and eventual release. Matthes has since gone on to admit that "The Slut Always Rides Shotgun" may in fact be non-adaptable to film. He also partly blames himself due to not accepting the offer to write the screenplay himself. Still, Matthes has said that the mere idea of having one of his works turned into a movie and seeing someone else's interpretation of his life put to film is an amazing feeling, no matter how bad or comically cringy that movie is. The movie version of "The Slut Always Rides Shotgun" is available on Amazon in DVD and digital formats.    

Working during the day, and in many cases all through the night, Matthes drives or flies from state to state; travels which he draws much of his inspiration from that oftentimes bleeds quite literally onto the blank page to form what eventually becomes a novel or work of poetry. Many, if not all, of his novels are based on parts of his life, while taking the necessary precautions to shield against any unwanted attention. Learning early on the hard way with his first novel "The Slut Always Rides Shotgun", Matthes takes creative liberties wherever possible to suit the needs of the story, but all of his stories and poetry have a direct correlation to his real life experiences.

Matthes also hosts a Youtube Series in which he shares and talks about the poetry and literary work of other like-minded writers around the world, called "Bathtime Reads with Dave Matthes".   

Bathtime Reads with DAVE MATTHES Youtube Series

Published Works


All of Matthes' work can be purchased on Amazon in paperback and for the Kindle.

Novels and Prose
The Slut Always Rides Shotgun (2011)
The Passive Aggressors (2012)
In This House, We Lived, and We Died (2013)

Sleepeth Not, the Bastard (2014)
Bar Nights (2015)
Paradise City (2016)
Return to the Madlands (2016)
The Mire Man: The Complete Trilogy (2016)
Lockless Doors in the Land of Harsh Angels (2017)

The Sounds From the Hills Go Away When the Sun Goes Down (2018)

MERCY (2019)
No Old Souls At Fury Tavern (2019)


Poetry, Short Stories, and Essays
The Kaleidoscope Syndrome: Poetry (2014)
Wanderlust and the Whiskey Bottle Parallel: Poems and Stories (2015)

Strange Rainfall on the Rooftops of People Watchers: Poems and Stories (2016)
EJACULATION: New Poems and Stories (2017)
An Anvil of Night, A Hammer for Dawn: Poetry and Stories (2018)
On the Verge of Burning Down the Church: Poetry and Stories (2019) 

Black Hibiscus: New Poetry (Christmas 2019)

Serial Novel Series
Woodbury Tabernacle Volume One (2019)

Coming in 2020
A Scorched and Mystified Wilderness

Leave My Ashes on Blackheart Mountain (Mercy Trilogy Book II)